Possession of drug paraphernalia in Washington State
Possession of drug paraphernalia in Washington State is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 1 day in jail and a minimum fine of $250.00.
The maximum penalty for possession of drug paraphernalia is 90 days in jail and a $1,000.00 fine.
Burden of Proof
For conviction, the prosecutor must prove that you used the paraphernalia in conjunction with a controlled substance. This can be shown by the presence of drug residue, proximity to certain drug related items (i.e., small zip-lock baggies, large amounts of cash, scales, etc.), or proximity to a controlled substance (i.e., a pipe located next to a bag of marijuana).