Possession of Methamphetamine:
Simple possession of a small amount of methamphetamine is considered a C felony in Washington state and is punishable by up to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
However, when anything other than a very small amount of methamphetamine is recovered, or if a large amount of cash or scales or numerous zip-lock baggies are also recovered, the state will often charge an individual with possession with intent to deliver a controlled substance, and the penalties increase to a B felony punishable by up to 10 years in jail and a fine of up to $25,000.
Possession with Intent to Manufacture Meth:
Possession of certain ingredients used to manufacture methamphetamine, including large amounts of pseudoephedrine and certain ammonia solutions, is considered a B felony under Washington State's VUCSA laws and is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $25,000.